Ricky Miller re-joins Boston United and promises goals

Originally published in the Boston Target on June 12th, 2013, Lincolnshire Echo on June 13th, 2013, and online.

RICKY MILLER believes the new strikeforce at Boston United can score 50 goals next season.

The 24-year-old striker became Dennis Greene’s fourth signing of the summer when he re-joined the club from Stamford.

Miller scored six goals in 12 games in 2008/09 as the Pilgrims avoided relegation from the UniBond League Premier Division in 2009.

“It’s brilliant to be back and I just can’t wait to get going really. Obviously I already know the place and the club’s got big ambitions, so it’s great to be here.

“The manager (Dennis Greene) has ambitions of getting us in the top five and that really drew me to the club. It’s a good standard of football, I just hope that we can live up to expectations.”

Miller joined Boston in March 2009 but, when Rob Scott and Paul Hurst came in as managers, the striker was let go that summer.

Spencer Weir-Daley and Marc Newsham were Boston’s chosen front two the following season and they will be Miller’s competition next term, along with Ben Fairclough and youngsters Charley Sanders and Jordan Nuttell.

“I think I can bring energy to the team,” says Miller. “I’ve got a good eye for goal and if I get a chance in front of goal I’d back myself to put it away. Hopefully between us strikers we can get around 50 goals and the team can kick on from there.

“I’m a tireless goalscorer and I just want to give it 100 per cent, earn my shirt, show what I can do and work hard.

“We’ll see where we are after pre-season, but I think the team’s looking good. The manager’s brought in Gary Mills who’s got great experience and the goalkeeper (Ashley) Timm’s record speaks for itself.”

Boston manager Greene said that he “could not wait” to start working with Miller in pre-season. “Ricky brings along a proven goalscoring record and you can never have too many goalscorers,” he added.

Miller starred for Stamford last season in the Evo-Stik League Division One South, scoring 31 goals in as many games. He scored a late winner in the play-off final against Chasetown as Stamford secured promotion, but Miller was eager to test himself at a higher level.

“It was a brilliant season and I loved it, but I want to play as high up as I can so when this opportunity came up I had to take it,” he said.

Even in a short stint at Boston, Miller impressed and has personal highlights of his time at the club. He hit a hat-trick on his debut in a 5-0 win over Prescott Cables, while fans will remember him fondly for the vital 88th minute winner against Hednesford in April 2009, which came in the middle of their fight for survival.

“The Hednesford goal was a wicked goal and I think that kept us up. The celebrations afterwards were brilliant,” said Miller. “That was a highlight for me. And the hat-trick on my debut is something that I’ll never forget.”

Boston Target, back page, June 12th 2013
Boston Target, back page, June 12th 2013
Lincolnshire Echo, p89, June 13 2013
Lincolnshire Echo, p89, June 13 2013
Leave a Reply

