Isle of Man TT 2013: Bardney’s Ivan Lintin misses out on podium place

Originally published in the Lincolnshire Echo on June 13th 2013.

Lincolnshire racer Ivan Lintin broke two personal records at the Isle of Man TT 2013, recording his best ever lap and finish in the competition.

The Bardney rider lapped at 121.501mph in the second Supersport race on board the Taylor Lindsey 600cc Kawasaki.

Lintin then claimed a stunning fourth place and a silver replica in the Lightweight race on the McKinstry Racing 650cc Kawasaki, missing out on a podium by 4.2s.

“Overall, I’m really happy with how this year’s TT has gone,” said Lintin. “I knew we would be in the mix in the Lightweight race as the bike was flying all week and although I felt I was capable of lapping in excess of 116mph, to lap at over 117mph was excellent.”

Lintin was leading the three-lap Lightweight race at one point. He then fell behind eventual winner James Hillier by the end of the second lap, before a pit-stop dropped him back to fourth behind Connor Cummings.

“I felt comfortable with the pace, so fair play to James at the head of the field, he was on fire, but there wasn’t much between the rest of us. While I’d obviously have loved to have got on the podium, I’m still over the moon with fourth.”

The Island’s Practice week was blighted by poor weather conditions and Lintin was forced to retire from the first Supersport race when his bike cut out halfway round a lap.

But the second race saw him set his record pace on lap four as he secured 15th place and a bronze replica.

“The bike went really well,” said Lincton. “I had a good battle on the roads for the second half of the race with Jamie Hamilton which was a lot of fun. I’d have loved a silver replica but I posted a strong lap well in excess of 121mph and it’s been an excellent meeting.

“I’ve gained a lot more experience, more TV coverage and bettered my previous results and speeds so I’ve got to be happy. A big thank you to Taylor Lindsey Racing, McKinstry Racing, B&C Express, the Nags Head and all my other sponsors who’ve helped make it a successful TT2013.”

Lincolnshire Echo, p88, June 13 2013
Lincolnshire Echo, p88, June 13 2013
Leave a Reply

